Alaska Science Teachers Association


ASTA Classroom and Professional Development Mini-Grants

...for Members Only!

Alaska Science Teachers Association offers mini-grants for classroom projects and professional development twice a year. These are only available to current members of ASTA. To become a member of ASTA click here.

Next opportunity is for Classroom Project Mini-grants, up to $500 each. Apply soon! Deadline is April 8, 2017.To apply download application below.

ASTA Minigrant Spring 2017 classproject-3 wg.pdf

E-mail application and inquiries to Ben Walker, Awards and Grants Coordinator

Emma Walton Award

A Bit of History

Alaska and the nation lost a science education leader in October of 2012. To continue to honor her service to encourage and strengthen science literacy throughout the country, colleagues may

nominate a science educator whose work is primarily carried out in Alaska and who exemplifies Emma's knowledge, enthusiasm, and commitment. This recognition comes with a $500 cash award to be applied to professional development.

The first recipient was granted the award in 2007, given annually for a few years. In 2011, it became a biennial award. Since then, recipients have included Cheryl Cooper, Elena Sparrow, Ray Barnhardt, Kenji Yoshikawa, and Pam Randles.

 See the Hall of Fame for information on past recipients.

Click here to view the nomination form.

Presidential Award for Excellence in Science Teaching

The 2017 PAEMST nomination and application cycle is now open for Elementary Educators

Nomination materials available from Dave Gillam or on-line at...

See the Hall of Fame for past Alaska recipients of the award.

Other Awards Open

for Applicants and Nominees

The following awards are open for teachers and students.

Educator Awards

Student/School Awards

2013 Recipient of Presidential Award for

Excellence in Science Teaching for Alaska

     Russell "Ben" Walker of Romig Middle School in Anchorage is the newest recipient of the Award. He has taught Gifted and Highly Gifted Seventh Grade Integrated Science at Romig Middle School in Anchorage, AK, for nine years. He has also taught Applied Technology, Lego Robotics, and Media Technology.

     Ben earned his National Board Certification in 2011 and was part of a teacher-leader team completing the three year Academy Creating Teacher Scientists in Richland, WA, working closely with scientists at Battelle-Pacific Northwest National Laboratory on cutting edge topics such as green buildings, transportation materials, biofuels and hydrogen fuel cells. He completed the National Academy of Curriculum Leadership focusing on science education reform. Ben has taught district-wide classes on science notebook use and worked on district curriculum. He is currently designing a science-based sustainability course.

     Ben believes all learning should be experiential and relevant. He emphasizes the nature and practice of science as shown in the working world through the extensive use of science notebooks for inquiry and an emphasis on the processes and application of science.

Ben graduated from Whitman College in Walla Walla, WA, with a bachelor’s degree in biology. He taught English in South America for a year before receiving his master’s degree in teaching at University of Alaska-Anchorage. He has also taught literacy through photography in St. Paul, AK.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software