Emma Walton Award

History of the Emma Walton Award

Alaska and the nation lost a science education leader last October. To continue to honor her service to encourage and strengthen science literacy throughout the country, 

Colleagues may nominate a science educator whose work is primarily carried out in Alaska and who exemplifies Emma's knowledge, enthusiasm, and commitment. This recognition comes with a $500 cash award to be applied to professional development.

Click here to view the nomination form.

2015 Winner

Pam Randles of Haines, Alaska.

2013 Winner

Kenji Yoshikawa, known as "Tunnel Man!"

There were three other outstanding nominees: Trisha Herminghaus (Anchorage), Dave Gillam (Anchorage), and Pam Randles (Haines.)

Click here to view the nomination form.

The first recipient was granted the award in 2007, given annually for a few years. In 2011, it became a biennial award. Since then, recipients have included Cheryl Cooper, Elena Sparrow, Ray Barnhardt, Kenji Yoshikawa, Pam Randles, and Dave Gillam

 See the Hall of Fame for information on past recipients.


Award will be presented at 2021 AK STEAM Conference in Juneau October 21-24

Click here to view the nomination form.

Click here to view the scoring rubric.

Follow Us

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software